The Mockingbirds

Some schools have honor codes.Others have handbooks.Themis Academy has the Mockingbirds.

Themis Academy is a quiet boarding school with an exceptional student body that the administration trusts to always behave the honorable way–the Themis Way. So when Alex is date raped during her junior year, she has two options: stay silent and hope someone helps her, or enlist the Mockingbirds–a secret society of students dedicated to righting the wrongs of their fellow peers.

In this honest, page-turning account of a teen girl’s struggle to stand up for herself, debut author Daisy Whitney reminds readers that if you love something or someone–especially yourself–you fight for it.

Hush little students, don’t say a word…

It is not easy searching this book in Google. Especially when you just type Mockingbird as the keyword. The result will lead into To Kill A Mockingbird book by Harper Lee or even the real mockingbird. I have tried to search it in Goodreads and a same case happened. They gave me few book with mockingbirds in cover. But Finally I got the cover. But I have to wrote Daisy Whitney , the Author, first.

What the story inside?
As you can read in synopsis, it is about life of a girl in high school.  No words I can tell for  detail because they  only provide the first few pages. But something for sure, I already got surprise with what I read. Not only from the first chapter but also the Author’s Note. “Date-rape”, that is the highlighting. When I wrote this I have not fully understand yet what it is all about.

I want to read the next chapter of this book because it also does not give me any details of what mockingbirds they are talking about. As usual, I hope I can get my own copy

By the way, have you ever read To Kill Mockingbird by Harper Lee?

~~~

Author: Daisy Whitney
Reading level: Young Adult
Hardcover: 352 pages
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers (November 2, 2010)
Language: English

About Asriani Purnama

I love books. I am addicted to it. Just like air, can't live without it.
This entry was posted in book, wishlist and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Mockingbirds

  1. Rinnaite says:

    I’m pretty sure there’s a manga with similiar story. Wait, I forgot what’s the title >.<
    At first I thought this book is the "To Kill A Mockingbird". And nooo, I haven't read it, am afraid to 😀

Leave a Reply

